The Chronicles of Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia

Several major surveys conducted over the last few decades of the best-selling and most influential books of all time place C.S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia in the Top 10, just a few places below J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings.

The seven volumes of the Chronicles of Narnia are not just a way to make Christian theology “digestible” in an age that is very hostile to Christian truths (and to Christianity in general.) They are, at the same time, well-crafted fantasy novels, building an independent universe – that has fascinated generations.

Some alleged that these captivating “Chronicles” are “mere children stories”. In fact, the books contain profound reflections on the human condition; and they illuminate, at the same time, several higher truths concerning God. Children will discover here adventures, characters and fairy tales that have fascinated generations. While grown-ups will discover, in their turn, a series of meditations, or a continuous meditation on essential topics: temptation, sin and redemption.

The seven volumes that comprise the Chronicles of Narnia are, in their chronological order: The Magician’s Nephew (1950); The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe (1951); The Horse and his Boy (1952); Prince Caspian (1953); The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1954); The Silver Chair (1955); The Last Battle (1956).


  • Author: Clive Staples Lewis (1898 – 1963)
  • Original title: The Chronicles of Narnia
  • Original language: English
  • Genre: Fantasy novel
  • Publication period: 1950-1956
  • Public: Children, teenagers
The Chronicles of Narnia