The Space Trilogy

The Space Trilogy

For C.S. Lewis, popular science is the new mythology of our time. In The Space Trilogy, Lewis uses the medium of popular science and Science Fiction to explore deep spiritual themes and to critique the scientific spirit of his time (that is still or even more prevalent today.)

Each of the three volumes of the trilogy explores a central theme. Out of the Silent Planet exposes the snobbery of the so-called “scientist thinking”, over the background of an imaginary world called Macalandra. The second volume, Peralandra, shows us the demonic origins of pride. Here the central character of the series, Ransom, will explore a new Garden of Eden, where a new Temptation takes place – but this story will, however, have a different outcome.

The strongest and most consistent volume of the trilogy is the third, That Hideous Strength. Dr. Ransom now lives in a small English university town, where he will dismantle, acting from the shadows, the plot of a sinister society called the “progressive element” – that brings fascism to England. This society uses ancient and demonic powers to subjugate the wills and lives of people. Behind the “progressive” thinking, Lewis points out, one can find the same demonic pride that drove ancient people to build the monstrous Tower of Babel.

Lewis’s art shows us with simplicity and clarity that the great truths can be known by applying common sense. The truths of faith and religion make sense because they are elementary. And nowhere is Lewis’ genius more visible than in his novels and works of fiction.


  • Author: Clive Staples Lewis (1898 – 1963)
  • Original title: The Space Trilogy
  • Original language: English
  • Genre: Science fiction novel
  • Publication period: 1938-1945
  • Public: Adults, teenagers
The Space Trilogy